A bit about Chakras.

March 15, 2022 By Admin Admin Off

What are ‘Chakras’?

The word ‘chakra’ comes from Sanskrit and means ‘wheel’ or ‘vortex’.  Chakras are the energy centres of the body, located in the astral, or ‘energy’ body, along the spine, beginning at its base and running upwards to the crown of the head. Each physical body part has a corresponding astral body part.

Each of the chakras radiate a specific colour and energy and relate to locations in the physical body. Since each chakra relates to specific spiritual, emotional, psychological, and physical aspects of our being, it is believed that their blockage or malfunction can lead to physical, psychological, and/or emotional disorders. Being conscious of these and paying attention to balancing each energy centre will therefore lead to overall well-being and good health.

Yoga, meditation, and diet are some of the tools we can use to aid in stimulating and balancing chakras.

We will publish more detailed information on each of the 7 Chakras, so remember to keep an eye on our blog  


Meditation to aid good chakra health

Try to meditate for a minimum of 20 – 30 minutes each day.  Here are some tips to help you get started.

  • Find a quiet and comfortable space
  • Play some music. There are many sites offering music specifically suited to chakra meditation, and we recommend that you find one that suits you
  • Make sure you’re in a comfortable position. The ideal is for you to meditate in a seated position on the floor or on a cushion, however, you may be more comfortable sitting in a chair or lying down.  Whatever your chosen position, make sure your spine is straight and your shoulders are back.
  • Eyes and hands: Close your eyes and place your hands in the prayer position, fingers pointing up. Your thumbs should be out slightly, touching the heart chakra at the centre of your chest.  These two actions also help reduce distractions and fidgeting
  • Focus your attention: Constantly focus on the space between your palms. Although your attention may wander, simply refocus on this space
  • Breathe: Take a few unhurried breaths in and out until you feel calmer
  • Visualise the chakras: Gently focus your attention on each of the chakras, starting with the root chakra at the base of your spine.

Chakras and Health

Each chakra isassociated with the organs and glands of the particular region where they are located. They have a strong influence on our physical health, state of mind, and relation to others. Various factors such as our personal experiences, lifestyle, environment, and stress levels can affect the balance of our chakras.  An imbalanced chakra becomes either hypo- or hyperactive. The functioning of a hypoactive chakra can be reduced as the flow of energy is blocked.  Similarly, a hyperactive chakra is when too much energy flows into that area.  In both cases, there is an imbalance in the overall flow of energy throughout the body.

Chakras are interrelated, and a disturbance in one will cause disturbance in others.  This makes people feel disconnected, anxious, fearful, and also manifests as health problems in one or more areas of the body.

You will function at your best when all chakras are aligned and balanced.

Function and importance of the chakras

The chakras are responsible for distributing the five pranas to their respective areas.  Prana is the life energy that allows voluntary and involuntary functions to perform. Eg. Breathing, digestion, thinking and heartbeat. When a chakra does not function properly, prana distribution flow is disturbed, and physical or psycho-emotional/energy issues arise.

Ways to balance or awaken the chakras

Factors such as diet, lifestyle, environment and thought patterns can impact the functioning of one or more of the chakras.

Here are some of the tools to balance the chakras:

  • Diet: One of the main reasons for an imbalance in the chakras is an imbalance of the five elements in the body. A balanced diet helps to bring balance to the elements of the body.
  • Asanas: Practicing yoga asanas helps stimulate the chakras and improve their functioning. They also clear the way for the chakras to heal themselves.
  • Breathing: Breathing helps to increase the flow of prana in the body and removes stale prana.
  • Meditation: Meditation helps to clear the mind and reduces negativity

We will post more details on each of the chakras in the coming weeks, so remember to keep an eye on our blog

Please note: We write these articles based on our understanding, practice, and experience. When looking for answers, please follow the advice of the Gautama Buddha detailed in this quote. Do not believe in anything simply because you have heard it. Do not believe in anything simply because it is spoken and rumoured by many. Do not believe in anything simply because it is found written in your religious books. Do not believe in anything merely on the authority of your teachers and elders. Do not believe in traditions because they have been handed down for many generations. But after observation and analysis, when you find that anything agrees with reason and is conducive to the good and benefit of one and all, then accept it and live up to it.”– Gautama Buddha